

## **International Wildland Fire Safety Award**



The International Association of Wildland Fire (IAWF) inaugurated the International IAWF Wildland Fire Safety Award in 1997, at the Association's first Wildland Fire Safety Summit held in Rossland, British Columbia. The IAWF presents this award to a deserving individual selected from nominees submitted to a committee comprised of previous award recipients and a member of the IAWF board.

The award is given to someone in the wildland firefighting community who has made a significant contribution to wildland firefighter safety, either directly on the fireline; or indirectly through management, cultural changes, or through wildland fire research.

















Recipients include:

**1997 Chuck Hartley**, Battalion Chief: Mt. Baldy District, Angles National Forest, United States Forest Service (retired); presented in Rossland, British Columbia, Canada

**1998 Paul A. Gleason**, USFS, Hazardous Fuels Program Manager, Arapaho & Roosevelt National Forests, Redfeather Ranger District, United States Forest Service; presented in Winthrop, Washington, USA

**1999 R. H. (Harry) Luke**, Pioneering Australian Bushfire Researcher and co-author of "Bushfires in Australia;" presented in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

**2000 Alan Beaver,** Planning and Science Supervisor, Yukon Fire Management, Whitehorse, Yukon; presented in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

**2001 Dick Rothermel,** Project Leader, Fire Behavior Research Work Unit, USFS Intermountain Fire Sciences Laboratory, United States Forest Service (retired); presented in Missoula, Montana, USA

**2003 Martin (Marty) E. Alexander**, Senior Fire Behavior Research Officer, Natural Resources Canada, Canadian Forestry Service, Northern Forestry Centre; presented in Toronto, Canada

**2004 Ted Putnam**, Fire Equipment Specialist, Missoula Technology and Development Center, United States Forest Service (retired); presented in Missoula, Montana, USA

2008 Robert Mutch, US Forest Service (retired); presented in Jackson Hole, Wyoming.

**2009 Brian Sharkey**, Researcher, US Forest Service, Missoula Technology and Development Center (MTDC), The University of Montana – Missoula, Montana, USA.

**2010 Jim Cook**, National Interagency Fire Center, Boise, Idaho, USA; presented in Missoula, Montana.

2011 Dave Thomas, Renoveling LLC, Ogden, Utah, USA; presented in Sydney, Australia

**2015** Marc Castellnou, Catalan Fire Service, Catalonia Spain; presented in Boise, Idaho

**2017 Professor Domingos Viegas**, University of Coimbra, Portugal; presented in Barcelona, Spain

**2018 Kelly Close,** Battalion Chief, Poudre Fire Authority. Colorado, USA; presented in Asheville, North Carolina, USA

**2021 Bret Butler**, Missoula Fire Lab, Missoula, Montana, USA; presented at the Virtual Safety Summit.